Flyers preparing to add inductee to team’s Hall of Fame

Dave Scott

It’s been more than five years since the Flyers last inducted a player into the team’s Hall of Fame but it looks like that state of affairs is about to come to an end.

And well it should. There is a lengthy list of worthwhile candidates, including Mark Recchi, Rick Tocchet, Paul Holmgren, Simon Gagne and Kimmo Timonen.

The Flyers announced on Tuesday that the organization has begun the process of identifying a new inductee for the shrine.

The organization has also revamped the selection process for identifying new inductees with a focus on soliciting input from a wide range of perspectives, including former players, journalists, and others.

“We’re incredibly proud of our franchise’s storied history, and the Flyers’ Hall of Fame is an important way to honor individuals who have shaped the legacy of our organization,” said Dave Scott, chairman and CEO of Comcast Spectacor and Governor of the Philadelphia Flyers.  “When young Flyers fans visit our arena, they see names like Bobby Clarke, Bill Barber, and Eric Lindros displayed in the rafters and have an opportunity to learn about the legends who have made the Flyers one of the NHL’s truly great hockey franchises. That’s what this tradition and this process is all about – celebrating and building the legacy of the Philadelphia Flyers for generations to come.”

The selection process for the Flyers Hall of Fame will consist of two separate committees: a nomination committee and a voting committee, both of which are comprised of current Flyers Hall of Fame members, Flyers alumni, members of the Flyers front office, broadcasters, and members of the Philadelphia chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA).

The nomination committee will review former players and members of the Flyers organization, identify a list of finalists for consideration, and present the qualifications for each potential inductee.

Then, the voting committee will review the finalists and cast their votes to decide who will be inducted into the Flyers Hall of Fame. The number of inductees will be determined by the finalist votes and will not be limited to only one inductee.

Former defenseman Jimmy Watson (Feb. 29, 2016) and former forward Rod Brind’Amour (Nov. 23, 2015) are the most recent inductees.

Once the inductee or inductees are selected, the Flyers will identify a home game this season at which the organization will conduct a pregame ceremony to enshrine the latest member(s) of the Flyers Hall of Fame. More information on the Flyers Hall of Fame induction process will be announced in the coming weeks.

The Flyers Hall of Fame currently has 25 honored members, beginning with the inaugural inductions of Bob Clarke and Bernie Parent in 1988.




1988 – Bob Clarke and Bernie Parent

1989 – Bill Barber, Ed Snider and Keith Allen

1990 – Rick MacLeish and Fred Shero

1991 – Barry Ashbee and Gary Dornhoefer

1992 – Reggie Leach and Gene Hart

1993 – Joe Scott and Ed Van Impe

1994 – Tim Kerr

1996 – Joe Watson

1999 – Brian Propp

2001 – Mark Howe

2004 – Dave Poulin

2008 – Ron Hextall

2009 – Dave Schultz

2014 – Eric Lindros and John LeClair

2015 – Eric Desjardins

2015 – Rod Brind’Amour

2016 – Jimmy Watson

Avatar photo
About Wayne Fish 2443 Articles
Wayne Fish has been covering the Flyers since 1976, a stint which includes 18 Stanley Cup Finals, four Winter Olympics and numerous other international events.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.